CARIBBEAN CARNIVAL CORAL BOUQUET


My Inspiration

OMG! Five straight days of gloomy, cold, rain and fog! I’ve had enough with winter already! My spirits are as overcast as the weather. So, taking matters into my own hands, I decided to push the season on. I was thinking a little sun and fun on a Caribbean Holiday might be just the ticket right about now, especially with Mardi Gras Carnivals right around the corner. But, if like me, the sudden jump in fuel costs and airline ticket prices are stealing your shine, here’s a bright and cheery, Coral Floral Concoction to put the Spring back in your step.

Gather Tools & Construction Materials

  1. Coral Flowers – I used pink, hot pink and orange roses, pink hydrangea, orange spray roses, coral godetia, purple wax flower, and pink carnations (I couldn’t find “cockscomb” celosia, but carnations are a great substitute for imitation sea coral)
  2. Vase – I chose a variety of ocean blue vases, reminiscent of the Caribbean Sea
  3. Wood Floral Picks
  4. Small Sea Shells – available at your local Walmart – always check those Clearance Racks at Walmart, you never know what Treasures you’ll dig up there!
  5. Oyster Shell (OPTIONAL) – I recycled a pewter cast oyster shell salt cellar I use for dinner parties
  6. Decorative Sea Creatures (OPTIONAL) – I recycled a souvenir carved fish from Jamaica
  7. “Wet” Oasis Floral Foam – use the “wet” bricks available at your local Walmart
  8. Multipurpose Scissors
  9. Green Glass Pebbles – available at your local Walmart or Michaels
  10. Decorative Sea Creatures (OPTIONAL) – I recycled sand dollars I dragged home from my days of living in the Turks & Caicos islands

Caribbean Coral Bouquet Instructions

  1. Soak your “wet” Oasis floral foam in a bucket of water 2 hours ahead of time, if necessary, and place it in your vase
  2. Prepare your Sea Shell floral picks
    1. Select and brush off a couple small sea shells
    2. Glue them to the end of a floral pick, using a glue gun or any clear household glue
  3. Fill your vases with a bunch of coral, pink, magenta, and orange flowers

    1. HINT: to extend the life of your bouquet, cut your stems on a diagonal and long enough to stick at least 2 inches (5 cm) into the “wet” Oasis floral foam, so your flowers can drink lots of water
    2. HINT: start your arrangement with the hydrangea first, then add your larger flowers, spray roses, smaller flowers, and end with your accent flowers and sprays (e.g. wax flowers and statice in my bouquet)
  4. Finish your bouquet by inserting your sea shell floral picks and sand dollars
  5. Kick back, relax, enjoy a Rum Punch, play some Bob Marley, and watch those Winter Blues melt away!

Sun is shining, the weather is sweet, yeah
Make you wanna move your dancing feet now
— Bob Marley

2 thoughts on “CARIBBEAN CARNIVAL CORAL BOUQUET

Comments are closed.